Record number of Essex nominations for Queen’s Award for Voluntary Services

This year has seen a record number of nominations for the Queen’s Award for Voluntary Services (QAVS) for Essex since its inception in 2002.

Winners of the QAVS are announced every year on 2 June to coincide with HM the Queen’s Birthday Honours and recognise groups that make a real difference to their local communities.

In total this year there have been 16 nominations.

The nominated groups are:

  • 4th Rochford Scout Group
  • Action for Carers, Maldon
  • Beacon House Ministries, Colchester
  • Essex Search and Rescue
  • Essex Youth Build, Chelmsford
  • First Stop Centre, Braintree
  • Footprints Community Group, Rochford
  • Grant A Smile, Loughton
  • Havering and Brentwood Bereavement Service
  • Hearing Help Essex, Chelmsford
  • SOS Rape Crisis, Southend
  • Southend in Sight
  • Stock Cares
  • Stow Maries Great War Aerodrome
  • Teen Talk, Harwich
  • Trust Links, Southend

The Lord Lieutenant, Jennifer Tolhurst and Chairman of Essex County Council, Cllr John Jowers are jointly hosting the reception at County Hall this Thursday (28) between 6.30pm and 8.30pm, to recognise all the nominated groups for the excellent work they do and for being nominated for the highest award for voluntary services.

The three QAVS winners from 2018 are also attending the reception so they can be thanked for their outstanding work in the community and congratulated on winning the prestigious QAVS. The 2018 winners were Thurrock Mind, Stanford, Corringham and Tilbury First Responders and One Community Development Trust, Tilbury.

The QAVS Reception brings together all local authorities from across Essex, the Community Voluntary Services (CVSs) from across the county and others closely connected to the voluntary sector.

Apart from thanking and congratulating the groups nominated, the reception aims to promote the QAVS amongst those closely connected to the voluntary sector and encourage them to nominate their excellent local voluntary groups for the award in the future.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *